News

21.10.2013

The VisInfo prototype is available online for the public. [more]

The VisInfo System

Due to technical advances in acquisition, processing and storage of primary research data, increasing amounts of primary research data are available in digital libraries. With the increasing availability of research data new requirements and challenges for precise search and retrieve functionalities are rising. In contrast to text documents, research data, with its graphic vizualisations, places different demands on indexing, searchability and presentation in the information retrieval process. In the project, data analysis processes as well as visual search systems are being studied and developed further, with their prototypical implementation being evaluated in the GetInfo specialized portal by the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB). The objective is not only the immediate search in research data, but also metadata based searches.

Modules

Using a visual cluster algorithm, a huge amount of scientific research datasets of a digital library can be arranged in a self-organizing map and visualized in one Visual Catalog. A example from the project shows daily temperature curves from different BSRN (Baseline Surface Radiation Netowrk) stations all over the world.

VisInfo - Visual Catalog
Image.: Visual Catalog

For a better understanding numeric data is very often visualized during a scientific analysis. The VisInfo project uses this concept for a content-based search in time-series data and provides a query interface for the definition of a visual query in terms of a curve progression The user can choose a example curve in the Query Editor, upload measured data curves or drawn a curve by hand. Based on predefined similarity notions, similar curves within the search space will be returned and visualized.

VisInfo - Query Editor
Image.: Query Editor

Hits can be display in the Visual Catalog using an additional color mapping. The colormap indicates similar time series patterns with blue colors, unsimilar patterns are denoted with red color values.

VisInfo - Visual Catalog with color mapping

Image.: Visual Catalog with color mapping

The Visual Catalog can be visualized with certain metadata filters associated with the corresponding metadata. The white-yellow colormap indicates the number of patterns of each cluster cell that correspond to the filter query (also called density histogram). Yellow colors denote cluster cells with high density.

VisInfo - Visual Catalog with filter

Image.: Visual Catalog with metadata filter and color mapping

News

21.10.2013

Der VisInfo Prototyp ist online frei verfügbar[Mehr].

Das VisInfo System

Mit fortschreitender technischer Entwicklung wird die Erzeugung, Verarbeitung und langfristige Bereithaltung von wissenschaftlichen Forschungsdaten in Digitalen Bibliotheken immer einfacher. Damit wächst jedoch auch die verfügbare Datenmenge für potentielle Nutzer und damit die Herausforderung Verfahren zum zielgerichteten Suchen und Auffinden relevanter Daten bereitzustellen. Im Gegensatz zu Textdokumenten stellen Forschungsdaten durch ihre graphische Visualisierung andere Anforderungen an eine Indexierung, Suchbarkeit und Präsentation im Information Retrieval Prozess. Im Projekt werden hierzu Verfahren zur Datenanalyse sowie für visuelle Suchsysteme untersucht und weiterentwickelt, sowie deren prototypische Umsetzung in das Fachportal GetInfo der Technischen Informationsbilbiothek evaluiert. Ziel ist, neben der metadatenbasierten Suche, auch die unmittelbare Suche in Forschungsdaten zu ermöglichen.

Module

Eine große Anzahl von Forschungsdatensätzen einer Digitalen Bibliothek lassen sich mit einem visuellen Cluster-Algorithmus in einer Self-Organiszing-Map (SOM) anordnen und als Visuellen Katalog darstellen. Ein Beispiel aus dem Projekt zeigt Tagesverläufe der Temperatur, aufgenommen von Meßstationen des weltweiten BSRN Netzwerkes.

VisInfo - Visueller Katalog
Abb.: Visueller Katalog

Numerische Forschungsdaten werden im Analyseprozess sehr häufig visualisiert. Das VisInfo Projekt greift dieses Konzept für die inhaltsbasierte Suche in Zeitserien auf, und ermöglicht die Definition einer visuellen Query in Form eines gezeichneten Kruvenverlaufes. Der Nutzer kann im Query Editor Beispielkurven auswählen, selbst gemessene Datenkurven einlesen oder individuelle Kurvenverläufe zeichnen. Basierend auf vorab definierten Ähnlichkeitsmaßen werden passend zur Suchkurve die ähnlichsten Kurvenverläufe

VisInfo - Query Editor
Abb.: Query Editor

Die Treffer einer Suche lassen sich über ein Color Mapping im Visuellen Katalog dargestellen. Blau eingefärbte Zellen stehen für ähnliche Zeitserien-verläufe, weniger ähnliche Kurvenverläufe werden durch rot eingefärbte Zellen dargestellt.

VisInfo - Trefferdarstellung im Visuellen Katalog

Abb.: Treffer im Visuellen Katalog mit Color Mapping

Im Visuellen Katalog können ferner Filter auf zugehörige Metadaten visualisiert werden. Das unten gezeigte Color-Mapping visualisiert die Anzahl von Datensätzen in einer Zelle, für die der eingestellte Metadatenfilter zutrifft. Gelb eingefärbte Zellen zeigen beispielsweise an, dass viele Datensätze in der Zelle ein entsprechendes Metadatum haben.

VisInfo - Filter auf Visuellem Katalog

Abb.: Metadaten-Filter mit Color Mapping im Visuellen Katalog

VisInfo

Gefördert durch: