News

21.10.2013

The VisInfo prototype is available online for the public. [more]

VisInfo

The VisInfo project - Visual Access to Research Data – aims to develop innovative approaches for interactive, graphical access to research data in digital libraries. The goal of the project therefore is the development and prototypical implementation of innovative approaches for interactive, graphical access to research data, to present it in the information retrieval process and make it searchable in the best possible way. The project currently focuses on content-based visual search and presentation of time-oriented data of primary research data from earth and climate sciences.

VisInfo - Result Visualization

Due to technical advances in acquisition, processing and storage of primary research data, increasing amounts of primary research data are available in digital libraries. With the increasing availability of research data new requirements and challenges for precise search and retrieve functionalities are rising.

In contrast to text documents, research data, with its graphic vizualisations, places different demands on indexing, searchability and presentation in the information retrieval process. In the project, data analysis processes as well as visual search systems are being studied and developed further, with their prototypical implementation being evaluated in the GetInfo specialized portal by the German National Library of Science and Technology (TIB). The objective is not only the immediate search in research data, but also metadata based searches.

The requirements in respect of the search process, as well as the presentation of search results from the users’ perspective are to be intensively studied and the findings incorporated into the development process.

Project funding

The VisInfo project was funded by the Leibniz-Gemeinschaft during a time period of three years (2010-2012) within the Joint Initiative for Research and Innovation. The TIB is the project leader of VisInfo.

News

21.10.2013

Der VisInfo Prototyp ist online frei verfügbar[Mehr].

VisInfo

Das Projekt VisInfo, Visueller Zugang zu Forschungsdaten, beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung von neuen, visuellen Verfahren für die Suche und Darstellung von Forschungsdaten in Digitalen Bibliotheken. Ziel des Projektes ist daher die Entwicklung und prototypische Umsetzung von innovativen Ansätzen für den interaktiven, graphischen Zugang zu Forschungsdaten, um diese optimal im Information Retrieval Prozess darstell- und suchbar zu machen. Der Fokus des Projektes liegt auf der inhaltsbasierten, visuellen Suche sowie Präsentation von Forschungsdaten aus dem Bereich der Erd- und Umweltwissenschaften.

VisInfo - Result Visualization

Mit fortschreitender technischer Entwicklung wird die Erzeugung, Verarbeitung und langfristige Bereithaltung von wissenschaftlichen Forschungsdaten in Digitalen Bibliotheken immer einfacher. Damit wächst jedoch auch die verfügbare Datenmenge für potentielle Nutzer und damit die Herausforderung Verfahren zum zielgerichteten Suchen und Auffinden relevanter Daten bereitzustellen.

Im Gegensatz zu Textdokumenten stellen Forschungsdaten durch ihre graphische Visualisierung andere Anforderungen an eine Indexierung, Suchbarkeit und Präsentation im Information Retrieval Prozess. Im Projekt werden hierzu Verfahren zur Datenanalyse sowie für visuelle Suchsysteme untersucht und weiterentwickelt, sowie deren prototypische Umsetzung in das Fachportal GetInfo der Technischen Informationsbilbiothek evaluiert. Ziel ist, neben der metadatenbasierten Suche, auch die unmittelbare Suche in den Forschungsdaten.

Die Anforderungen aus Sicht des Nutzers hinsichtlich des Suchprozesses sowie der Präsentation von Suchergebnissen sollen intensiv untersucht und in den Entwicklungsprozess rückgekoppelt werden.

Projektförderung

Das VisInfo Projekt wurde über drei Jahre (2010-2012) im Rahmen des SAW-Verfahrens durch die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft gefördert. Die Technische Informationsbibliothek nimmt die Projektleitung wahr.

VisInfo

Gefördert durch: